EMS Technical Operations Committee

The MESB’s EMS Technical Operations Committee (TOC) is a committee of the Metro Region EMS System and consists of representatives of community health, physicians, EMS communications, and ambulance service providers. The individuals serving on the EMS TOC represent the ten metropolitan counties in addition to a mix of public and non-governmental EMS agencies. The Metro Region EMS System’s responsibility and accountability for regional EMS planning is carried out through quarterly meetings of the EMS TOC and bi-monthly meetings of its subcommittees, such as the Emergency Preparedness Subcommittee and EMS Multi-agency Coordination Center coordinating group. These committees are responsible for planning and the implementation of the regional EMS programs and projects. Additionally, the EMS TOC and its subcommittees serve as a forum for the identification and prioritization of new, immediate, emerging, or future EMS issues and a collaborative to design a response or action plan for the Metro Region EMS System. Ultimately, the EMS TOC recommends to the MESB actions that are needed for the coordination and improvement of emergency medical services within the metropolitan region.

The EMS TOC meets the third Tuesday of the first month of each quarter (March, June, September, and December) at 12:00 p.m. All meetings, unless otherwise noted, are held in the Board Room of the Metropolitan Counties Government Center, 2099 University Avenue West, St. Paul, MN 55104.

EMS TOC members:

Allina Health EMS – Kevin Miller
Anoka County – Jeff Lanenberg
Burnsville – BJ Jungmann
Carver County – Deb Paige
CentraCare EMS – Frank Zinken
Chisago County – Open
Cottage Grove EMS – Jon Pritchard
Dakota County – Amalia Roberts
Edina Fire – Ryan Quinn
Elk River Ambulance – Steve Dittbenner
Gold Cross St. Cloud – Open
Hastings Fire & Ambulance – John Townsend
Health Partners Medical Transportation – Brian Fisher*
Hennepin County – Kristin Mellstrom*
Hennepin EMS –  Tyler Lupkes*
Isanti County – John Henderson
Lakes Region EMS – Ben Wasmund
Lakeview EMS – Jon Muller
Lower St. Croix Fire – Jim Stanley
M Health Fairview- Nick Lesch*
Mahtomedi Fire – Terry Fischer
Maplewood Fire – Mike Mondor
Mdewakanton Public Safety – Mark Weiberg
Medical Director, East – RJ Frascone, MD
Medical Director, West – John Hick, MD
Minneapolis Fire – Amber Lage
Northfield Hospital EMS – Brian Edwards* 
North Memorial Ambulance  – Scott Oberlander 
North Memorial Ambulance, PZM – Open
Oakdale Fire – Kevin Wold
Ramsey County – Laura Andersen
Ridgeview Ambulance – Mark Andereson
St. Paul Fire – Steven Sampson
Scott County – Open
Sherburne County – Adam Boler
South Metro Fire – Terry Anderson
University of MN EMS  – Robert Ball
Washington County – Open
White Bear Lake Fire – Greg Peterson
Woodbury Public Safety – John Altman

EMS Emergency Preparedness Subcommittee Chair – Tyler Lupkas*
*Denotes EMS TOC Executive Committee member

Related Resources

EMS TOC Bylaws 3.11.20